Travel & General Information

TRAVEL

Dublin Airport

Delegates should ensure when booking flights to Ireland that they book to arrive in Dublin Airport. For information about Dublin airport please visit http://www.dublinairport.com/

Dublin Airport Information - Tel + 353 (0) 1 814 1111

Aer Arann www.aerarann.com
Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.ie
Air Baltic www.airbaltic.com
Air France www.airfrance.com
Air Transat www.airtransat.com
American Airlines www.aa.com
British Airways www.britishairways.com
BMI www.flybmi.com
City Jet www.cityjet.com
Continental Airlines www.continental.com
Delta Airlines www.delta.com
Etihad Airways www.etihadairways.com
Flybe www.flybe.com
German Wings www.germanwings.com
Iberia www.iberia.com
Lufthansa www.lufthansa.com
Luxiar www.luxair.co.uk
Malev Airlines www.malev.hu
Norwegian Airlines www.norwegian.com
Ryanair www.ryanair.com
SAS www.flysas.com
Swiss Airlines www.swiss.com
Turkish Airlines www.turkishairlines.com
US Airways www.usairways.com

Travel to Conference Venue from Dublin Airport

The Conference venue, Trinity College is in the heart of the city centre. All public buses marked city centre will leave you in the vicinity of the college.

Green Dublin buses www.dublinbus.ie marked 747 and 748 are the cheapest way to travel from the airport to the city centre. Purchase a €6 travel card from the machine at the bus stop and this will cover your travel into the city centre plus any further bus travel that day. Or pay the driver of the bus €6 for the single trip to the city centre.

Blue Aircoach buses www.aircoach.ie cost €7 for the single trip, or a return ticket can be purchased for €12. Aircoach has a stop directly outside Trinity College Dublin.

Taxi

Taxis from the airport to the city centre are readily available outside the arrivals hall. The average journey should take between 20 and 30 minutes and cost €20 - €25.

Car Hire

Hertz Car Hire www.hertz.ie
Avis Car Hire www.avis.ie

Public Transport

Trinity College is very well  serviced by public transport links, both bus and rail. Schedules are available on-line at www.dublinbus.ie but in general, bus services will run from all areas to and from the city centre every 10/15 minutes.

Rail - DART (Dublin Area rapid transport). The closest DART station to Trinity is Pearse Street DART station. The DART line runs along the coast from Malahide to Greystones and is a convenient way to view the outskirts of the city.

LUAS light rail is Dublin's newest public transport option. The system currently consists of 2 lines. The Green Line serves the south of the city and the longer Red Line covers the North and South-West of Dublin and services Heuston Station and Connolly Station, the citys two main Train Stations. The 2 lines are not connected, and it is a 15-minute walk between their closest points, St Stephen's on the Green Line and Abbey Street on the Red Line. Both lines however will leave you with 5 minute walking distance from  Trinity College.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Visa & Passports European Union citizens do not require a passport or visa to enter Ireland, but most carriers by air or sea require some form of identification with photograph (usually either a passport or National Identity Card). Visitors are advised to check what form of ID is required with the individual airline, tour operator or travel agent before travelling.

Visitors from other countries do require a passport, and it is wise to check with your travel operator whether your originating country requires a visa. Please contact us if you require a letter of invitation for a visa application.
For further details please visit
Department of Foreign Affairs website (http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=8777).
Accommodation See Accommodation Section
Climate Mild and temperate (showers can occur any time of the year.) Summer temperatures range from 15-25 degrees C (60-75 F).
Banks & Currency Ireland uses the Euro (€).
Visa and Master Card are all widely accepted in pubs, shops and restaurants throughout the country.
Traveller's cheques can be cashed at most hotels and banks.
Bank Opening Hours - Mon, Tues & Fri 10.00-16.00; Wed 10.30-16.00; Thurs 10.00-17.00hr

Click here for the location of ATMs close to Trinity College Dublin.

Electricity Electric Current: 240 Volts AV
Plug type: 3 large flat prong British type plug. BS1363 system.
Insurance All conference attendees are advised to arrange private travel insurance. The conference organisers and committee accept no liability for personal accidents or damage to property while in attendance at the conference. The Organising Committee of ICCBM13  reserves the right to amend and alter the conference programme and events without prior notice and accepts no liability as a result of such actions.
Shopping General opening hours are Monday-Saturday from 10.00-18.00 with later opening hours on Thursday evenings. Some shops may open on Sunday from 13.00 to 18.00.
Smoking Ireland has introduced a ban on smoking. Smoking is prohibited in public areas within Ireland including all bars, nightclubs and restaurants. If required you should enquire whether your accommodation bedroom is a smoking or non-smoking room. Please use the smoking areas designated outside venues.
Tipping Tipping is a generally accepted practice in restaurants, bars, taxis and hotel porters. A service charge may be included in some restaurants and should be stated on the menu, but otherwise this is a discretionary item.
Telecommunications Cell Phones
For international delegates, only digital phones with GSM subscriptions and a roaming agreement will work on the island of Ireland. Visitors should consult with their supplier before departure.
Networks widely available are O2, Vodafone and Meteor.

Internet
Internet access details for the congress hotels and Trinity College campus accommodation is explained within each hotel description.
For delegates staying in Trinity College campus accommodation it is possible to purchase a wifi access code which can be used throughout the university campus. The code costs €15 and is valid for 7 days.

All delegates will have free access to an Internet station located in the conference centre for the duration of the conference.

Locations located close to Trinity College where free wifi access is available are Starbucks, Nassau St., Mc Donalds, Grafton St.